The Mind of a Songwriter

Recording in Joseph Workman Park in Toronto

Good morning and welcome back to the Sunday Bagel newsletter. Sundays tend to be stressful but I hope that my newsletter is a bit of fresh air.


Earlier this summer I began recording some of my podcasts in parks. I got some positive feedback on the project, but there were a few weeks where I had to retreat and go back to recording in my home. And then it was hard to get back out to the park.

This week I was able to get back out there with my old friend Matt James from Townhouse Music. We sat down in Joseph Workman Park in Toronto to discuss the creative process that goes into songwriting, being present as an artist, mastering your instrument and some of the other nuances about being a musician inside a bustling city. He also played two songs for us.

Whenever I talk about music on my podcast, I always try to make sure that the discussion is done in a way that anyone can understand it or get some tips from it, regardless of your ability to play music. I see the challenges that go into playing music as no different than almost any other practice out there as it’s a matter of coming to terms with your inner critic.

We are in front of a wall, which is part of the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) building behind us. This was a boundary wall for what was originally called the Provincial Lunatic Asylum. The wall was built in 1861, and in the start of the episode Matt tells us a bit about how it was constructed.

Looking back on this choice of location and the discussion that ensued, I would say it the two were related because a lot of work in the creative industries often comes down to managing mental health. While that wall as a backdrop can be seen as ominous, it’s also a source of light that on the other side of it is a place that’s there to help people who are struggling.

Make sure to watch the video above, or you can also watch/listen on Spotify, YouTube, and Apple Music or other podcast players.


Music Recommendation

Some music that caught me off guard this week is this live album by Bobby McFerrin and Chick Corea. I went off and listened to a few interviews with McFerrin afterwards and got a lot of interesting insights about his process.

A big thing for him is to try to not separate the act of performing from anything else in his day. This is to instil the point that all life is an improvisation and a performance. He said that sometimes if he has a performance at 9pm, he will show up to the venue at 8:59pm out of respect for this concept of the show being just another part of the day.

Have you ever been able to catch Bobby McFerrin live? If so let me know what it was like.

Leave a comment


Ok that’s it, have a great rest of your weekend and all the best getting your kids back to school if you have them.

0 Comments